TACO SOUP IN MY BELLY!

26 Feb

YAYYYYYYY THE SNOW IS BACKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!


Just as we thought spring may be popping it’s beautiful face into DC, we are back to the winter wonderland… Fortunately(?) I’m cooped up in my apartment this week due to surgery on my knee… thank you, birthday party. My mama decided to visit and is literally making me all of the foods. Therefore, I’m going to introduce you to one of the most glorious soup recipes you will ever encounter in your life.

Taco. Soup.

You’ve probably had some form of it before – but my mom’s recipe is the best. Sorry I’m not sorry. She makes this soup each winter, and each time I eat it, my tastebuds sing a Josh Groban anthem (this is not unlike my Burrito experience). Because I love you (and Josh) so much, I want to share with you this delicacy. It’s a great food to bring to work to piss off all your co-workers (because it smells so friggin awesome), it’s perfect for parties, and best of all – it’s super simple.

 

You require:

Your favorite trusty crock pot
1 pound of ground beef
1 package (1.25 ounce) taco seasoning mix
1 onion, chopped
1 can (16 ounce) chili beans with liquid
1 can (15 ounce) pinto beans with liquid
1 can (15 ounce) kidney beans with liquid
1 can (15 ounce) whole kernel corn with liquid
1 can (8 ounce) tomato sauce
2 cups of water
2 cans (14.5 ounce) peeled and diced tomatoes
1 can (4 ounce) diced green chili peppers
1 package (1.5 ounce) ranch dressing mix
Franks hot sauce, optional (but is it really? I recommend a lot…)

In a skillet, cook the ground beef until browned over medium heat. Drain. Add taco seasoning. Place the ground beef, onion, chili beans, pinto beans, kidney beans, corn, tomato sauce, water, diced tomatoes, green chili peppers, and ranch dressing in a slow cooker. Add a few shakes of Frank’s hot sauce. Mix to blend and cook on a low setting for 8 hours.

Serve with tortilla chips, a dollop of sour cream, and shredded cheese for good measure!

Does that sound like a trip to Taco Heaven or what? I will be devouring more than a few bowls this week as I watch West Wing and update my iTunes. At least there’s some benefit to a dislocated patella!

Happy Eating!

Belle

One Response to “TACO SOUP IN MY BELLY!”

  1. Vinny Grette February 26, 2014 at 2:24 pm #

    Get well soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

