In Which I Give Sephora a Ton of Free Marketing

7 Feb

My friends often ask about my makeup routine or what products I recommend. I’m no expert at makeup application, but I LOVE experimenting with products. My vanity looks like a Sephora store (the day I was presented with my brand new VIB card felt like the day Elle Woods got her VERSACE card). My favorite beauty blogger is by far Kate at the Small Things Blog, we have similar coloring, skin, and a distaste for a cakey or over the top looks.

First of all, my makeup obsession began because I look like this, but scary, without makeup:

I have been #blessed with very good skin. Sensitive and a bit dry at times, but overall, very very good. That being said, most drugstore makeup is not compatible with my skin, which is the SECOND reason for my makeup obsession. In fact, during a summer in DC, the drawer where I kept my makeup got jammed and I ran to CVS to pick up some basics. My face was bright red and blotchy and my eyes were itchy within minutes. I don’t mind spending the extra money on makeup because hi, it makes me more beautiful!

My everyday routine is very similar to my “going out” routine, except for nighttime I have a BAD bronzer addiction (irrational fear (not an actual fear) of looking pale) and a Naked Palette addiction.

Mosturizer: in the winter, I pack on the Clinique Moisture Surge immediately after taking my makeup off and washing my face. If it’s a while before I go to bed, I usually then put on Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion, which I also use in the morning. In the summer, I switch to Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel.

*I know there is a 3-step program in which the gel and lotion are used together or something, but….

Tinted moisturizer: I adore this NARS product, ESPECIALLY the color and coverage, but unfortunately, it was drying out my skin! I switched to Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20, but wasn’t loving the lack of coverage. Now, I use a good dollop of LM, and add a little NARS to the mix, and I HAVE A PERFECT COLOR AND BASE LAYER (clearly I’m thrilled).

Primer and Foundation: I didn’t use primer, or really foundation, until very very recently. I switched my routine actually from ONLY foundation, to tinted moisturizer right to pressed powder, to include the T M, primer, foundation, and then pressed powder. Anyway. Primer and Foundation! Estee Lauder Double Wear is an absolute LIFESAVER. I bought the limited edition kit complete with primer, concealer, and brush. I like that it was all smaller than the full-sized, so I could try it out. I’m SOLD! I’ll be re-purchasing all (except concealer) in full-sized once I run out. It goes on smooth, and somewhat sheer, it’s not cakey, and it blends beautifully.

Powder: I used to use Bare Minerals Loose Powder, but Sephora was out on a recent re-stocking trip, so I switched to the Bare Minerals Pressed Powder and again, I’m in love! Bare Minerals lasts FOREVER. I think it had been almost a year since I needed to restock.

Bronzer: Benefit Hoola is probably my best friend in the entire world. A few years ago Benefit made the packaging smaller and upped the price, but I quickly forgave them.

Eyeliner: For my blue eyes, Sephora Nano in Blue Jean is striking. It’s a blue-grey that slides on beautifully. Caveat: it does not last long, and is often sold out. I buy in multiples when I find it available in store. I also own a few other colors and have no complaints. You can’t beat the formula for the price.

Mascara: I’ve been loyal to Benefit “They’re Real” the last year or so, but I’m still not sold on it. I’m convinced that my eyelashes change what works on them in the same manner hair does. Also, I’m OBSESSED with mascara. I’ve been known to use 3 or 4 different mascaras to achieve one look. My all-time favorite mascara is Bourjois Liner Effect Mascara that I thought was no longer sold in the US until right this very moment and I’m purchasing it NOW. I also like Bare Minerals Flawless Definition Mascara and Dior Iconic Mascara.

Eyeshadow: Any of the three Urban Decay Naked Palettes will be your friend. You don’t NEED to own all three, but if you do, I will not judge you, and I will be jealous of you. I’m still waiting on lucky #3 (hi mama! my birthday’s coming up!)

Other favorite products:

All of my brushes are Sephora brand. I’m on my second set, and I take fantastic care of them with Sephora Purifying Brush Shampoo. I used Latisse all through college, and I really need to get a refill. It was amazing and truly made my lashes LUSCIOUS. Sephora brand Eyelash curler is perfect. I usually swipe it clean with makeup remover once a week to avoid leftover mascara buildup.

I’m still trying to get the hang of contouring…a la Kimmy… and once I perfect it, expect a post to come!

I have a ton more I could write, but if you’re still reading at this point, congratulations, it’s PROBABLY 2015!

XOXO

3 Responses to “In Which I Give Sephora a Ton of Free Marketing”

  1. V February 7, 2014 at 10:33 am #

    I’m loving the Clinique moisturizing gel, but my skin is just too dry for it. I might check out the moisture surge

    • annebroleyn February 7, 2014 at 6:51 pm #

      Try the dramatically different moisturizing lotion instead of the gel, it’s a bit thicker, but definitely still light and airy, good for every day!!

      • V February 8, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

        Thank you for that advice!

Leave a Reply

