#blogfrendz, or: I Found Our Soulmates

7 Nov

by Brownout Betty

Gonna get meta in this post guys. So, one thing that I love about blogging is that it puts me on the “giving” side of the Internet. By that I mean, a lot of us use blogs, Twitter, etc. to soak up  a sense of community and cameraderie – the idea that there are other people just like you thinking the same things, having the same problems, doing the same dumb shit. There is nothing that epitomizes this idea more than BuzzFeed, specifically this slideshow. You know the feeling: that vigorous head-nod where you’re like OMG THAT’S TOTALLY ME and then you post it on your friend’s Facebook walls and write “1,5,6,12,17” and then it’s really annoying for that friend because they have to keep bouncing back and forth between the slideshow and the goddamn Facebook post to see if they guessed right without even checking the numbers see which numbers correspond to which GIFs. Of course they did. But that was such a pain. Isn’t there an app for that yet?

I totally digress. The point is that the Internet is great for giving you that feeling that you’re not alone. I love blogging because I like to think that I, and the rest of the SR ladies, are helping to generate that feeling for others.

Ultimately though, it’s a two way street, and I still love “taking” as much as I love “giving.” That’s why I was so thrilled to find this blog, American Twenty Nothings, because they’re speaking to my soul. I love these girls so much that I don’t even mind that they gave me total writer’s block this evening by saying everything I was already thinking. I love their blog so much that I’m dedicating this whole post to it. Read the blog – I promise you won’t regret it.

Some might say: but Betty, as a new 20something blogger, aren’t these 20nothing people your competition?

Perhaps in the short run. But in the long run, we’re all here to help each other, and to use the written word to make people know that they have friends to help them through all the craziness. Even if those friends are anonymous bloggers.

Readers, Stop Requested is new and everything, but we all sincerely hope that by writing down our experiences, we’re giving you guys that sense of Internet-community – and making it just a little easier for you get through the day and your fabulous 20s.

Leave a Reply

