My Burrito Ballad

16 Oct

I have a bone to pick with DCIst… And by bone – I mean burrito. Although I typically enjoy and relate to much of what they post, I have to draw the line at this specific tortilla-filled blog that was pointed out to me last week. Check it out. After reading the entire article and not seeing my favorite burrito restaurant as one of the Top 10 Burrito places to eat in DC, I began to feel incredibly Hangry.

“Is D.C. a burrito town? That’s debatable. Like bagels, there isn’t one must-have burrito that comes to mind when one closes their eyes and thinks “burrito.”

Ummm excuse me? Stop Requested. There IS in fact a place that comes to mind when I close my eyes and think of burritos: Mexican Sol. This little hole-in-the-wall joint located on H Street is exactly what my 3am self needs on a fairly regular basis. I rarely see more than 4 people in line for their food… but granted that may be due to the fact that most sane people are asleep by the time I’m getting my dinner. Point is: It has not yet been fully discovered by the greater public. This place is Gold.

Although I live on the other side of the city, frequenting H street is still more or less a standard on any random Saturday night – particularly due to the fact that I have a number of friends that I can crash with nearby. But I choose H Street for more than just that. I choose it because at the end of my night, I know where I’ll be: Passed out halfway down Capital Jill’s hallway with my stomach happily full of brown rice, salsa, black beans, and various unknown spices… courtesy of Mexican Sol.

Each time I walk into this little establishment, I’m greeted by the warm smell of everything that is right with this world: also known as a sweetly scented mixture of chicken and avocado. Welcome to my burrito sanctuary. The floor is dirty, the tables may or may not have been wiped down in the past 72 hours, and there’s definitely no reason to enter the bathroom. You came for burritos. And gosh darnit, you’re gonna get a freaking masterpiece.

After you’ve had roughly 3 shots of SocoLime, 2 Yuenglings, and a drink or two from that interesting “investment banker from Norway” (right…), eating anything with flavor sounds like a good idea. But I promise you that after watching that tortilla grill, you will literally drool a little bit as the chef heaps (yes – I said HEAPS) monstrous piles of cheese, guacamole, and pico de gallo onto your prized possession, and you will no longer be craving some lame McChicken from down the road.

The DCist lays claim to places like the Tex Mex Burrito which describes itself as “pretty straight forward”… Thank you – That’s very enticing. Maybe you’d like to be surrounded by your favorite politicians at Tortilla Coast… Stacey is a fan of the Chipotle Quesarito – which I can appreciate. However, I refuse to compare a chain restaurant to this rare beauty. Most of the places listed on the DCist article are not meant for  people who are trying to appease their late night hunger struggle-bus while avoiding anymore condescending stares from the outside world.

In the absurdly high number of times that I have been there, I have not yet been judged for my unrelenting insistence on ordering in a British accent, or my tendency to exaggerate just how much guacamole should be applied to my meal. No one looks at me oddly whenever I exclaim: “BEST BURRITO EVER” for the 3rd time in 7 minutes… because everyone around me is too busy eating – and agreeing. The best way to describe how I feel about this burrito is by quoting The Ode to You, Sweet, Sweet Burrito by Buzz Feed. I couldn’t have said it better myself.

I’m not saying Mexican Sol is the classiest joint you will come across while partying it up down the road from Little Miss Whiskey’s. But it has easily grilled its way into the hearts of many of my friends. When spirits are high and low, when you’ve finally realized that ordering a water instead of another Vodka Soda is a solid idea, and your feet have finally given up on the fact that you wore heels instead of boots… find yourself in front of H Street’s best kept burrito secret. You won’t be disappointed. And next time, maybe DCist won’t neglect to leave Mexican Sol off their list.

Happy Munching!
Belle

And in return, you will stuff my stomach.

5 Responses to “My Burrito Ballad”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Love knows no limits | STOP REQUESTED - November 15, 2013

    […] HORRIBLE THE WORST NIGHT OF MY LIFE. I had a beautiful, perfect burrito from SR’s beloved Sol, and I was headed home from a long night on H street. Again, I was half asleep in the back seat […]

  2. I Don’t Support That: Volume III – The Ugg Boot | STOP REQUESTED - November 18, 2013

    […] two other birthday kiddos. Life got a bit crazy — shots were taken, burritos were consumed (SOL SOL SOL), and dignity was lost left and right. Injuries were reported, but we all survived. Somehow. Lost […]

  3. … And A Happy New Year | STOP REQUESTED - December 31, 2013

    […] But I’m also not blind to the fact that 2013 gave me plenty of reasons to smile. I was offered an incredible job that will provide nothing but amazing opportunities for my future. I moved out of my mother’s house to a brand new city with my own apartment. I met incredible friends – some of which I started a kinda cool blog with. And I’d like to think that even though I have plenty of immature stories to recall, I’ve grown up quite a bit… Not to mention the fact that I have discovered the world’s best burrito place. […]

  4. TACO SOUP IN MY BELLY! | STOP REQUESTED - February 26, 2014

    […] each winter, and each time I eat it, my tastebuds sing a Josh Groban anthem (this is not unlike my Burrito experience). Because I love you (and Josh) so much, I want to share with you this delicacy. It’s a great […]

  5. No More Ms. Nice Girl | STOP REQUESTED - March 14, 2014

    […] despite the missing few. My friends are fabulous and so generous. At the end of the night, I chose a burrito  over a boy. WHAT?!?!?! I know. That’s another part of the funk I’m in. Similar to what […]

Leave a Reply

